January 8, 2017

  • How to Impress a Good Looking Guy on a Mountain Bike

    I just noticed that I hadn't posted a single word since announcing the arrival of my new bike. There's a reason for that. I've been too busy riding it.

    Southern CA has finally received a couple of winter rain storms reminiscent of those we were accustomed to years ago. The trails are damp, the winter grasses are green, and there's snow on the mountains.

    Photo credit: Jonathan Orwig, a Redlands local.

    Snow Capped Mountains

    Which means, the temperature (low 70s), the traction, and the air quality, all conspire to make mountain biking more fun than should be legal.

    The trails in the Santa Ana Wash (this is the area slightly higher than the main channel of the Santa Ana River which doesn't see any water flow, probably because it's protected by some low earthen/rock levies and because we haven't had a 100 year rain event since 1968) get difficult to ride in the summer because they are sandy and rocky. But after a few winter storms, the paths are firm and provide a mountain bike playground. As far as I know, this "wasteland" is pretty much unregulated as far as recreation is concerned and nobody objects to random trail building in it.

    So, today Sally and I were careening in the downhill direction, on a trail with more twists and turns than the last presidential election when I came around a blind turn to find another biker toiling in the uphill direction. I slid to an abrupt stop a few feet from his front tire and promptly tipped over into a conveniently located bush. As I lay there, with my gorgeous new bike on top of me, laughing in pure embarrassment, he watched with bemused interest. Dismounting, he righted my bike which allowed me to scramble out of the bush and attempt to regain my dignity. It was about then I noticed how ruggedly handsome this man was.

    Most Interesting Man

    Well, maybe not THIS handsome, and certainly not as INTERESTING...but plenty good looking enough to make me feel like a complete idiot. And, of course, it turned out we had friends in common and he knew who I was, whether by reputation (klutz) or previous encounters on the trail and he said that an old acquaintance had told him to remember her to me if we met on the trail. He was pretty impressed with our spectacular new bikes but I think I enhanced my reputation immeasurably by prostrating myself at his feet.

Comments (3)

  • Those are two great shots. Glad you are enjoying your new bike, and the rained-on trails!

  • Beautiful view. I'm glad California is finally getting rain.
    I think Mr. Handsome will definately remember you next time you run into each other. perhaps some day you will be riding in the same direction.

  • You made me laugh really hard! I'm pretty sure you are now unforgettable! hehehe! What a first impression! Hope the bike and you were unscathed and that your dignity was salvaged and that you weren't drooling! hehe!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.