March 1, 2009

  • 010

    Mike installed the new Fox shock today so we felt compelled to take it out for a test ride.  I don't have any idea how long the 5th Element shock had not been working because I'm kind of clueless when it comes to subtleties in performance like that.  In addition to the rear shock being all but inoperable, the front fork had been set up way too stiff to suit me.

    At first I couldn't tell much difference because we started off on the pavement but as soon as we hit the trail I realized what I had been missing.  It was on the warm side, and humid, which made the climb just short of miserable but as soon as we headed downhill it was all good. 

    It's always fun to follow Mike down a technical trail because he always picks the perfect line.  I love it when he trims his speed just enough for me to stay with him and emulate his moves.  He's pure magic on a singletrack!  He boosts my confidence when he stops to wait for me and marvels at how close behind I was.  A couple of times my worn rear tire lost its grip in a tight turn but it wasn't catastrophic as the front tire held the line.  It was just enough to give me a little thrill.

    Tomorrow Sally's coming up with her new Cannondale so we're gonna shred those trails.  Mountain biker chicks gone wild!

Comments (12)

  • Hope it makes all the riding that you do more comfortable

  • @englishjuls - At my age, comfort is paramount.

  • Don' t you think Mike is very clever and caring ?
    Enjoy !
    Love

    Michel

  • C00L, Mike's got him a biker chick.

  • it really does sound like fun. i'm sure i'll itch myself into having to do it one day.  hey judy, when biker chicks go wild is there videya?

  • I switched out my rock shock (the mag something or other) for a Fox a couple of years ago and could not believe what a difference it made. My previous bike, a Turner, had a rear shock but when I bought the Pantera, it finally felt like a full suspension bike. Although the Pantera is heavier and not as agile on the climbs. I still love the geometry of it over the Turner. I miss riding. I love reading your blogs about it because you really capture the spirit of the ride. Nicely done.

  • @fauquet - He's a keeper for sure. 

    @ALL1Tribe - Biker hen might be a bit more accurate but I've never been fond of truth in blogging.

    @curtainsopen - You just stay away from bikes for now.  You don't want to break a wrist and ruin your baseball carreer.

    @queenie - I had that mag something or other on my Litespeed.  Mike stripped the paint off and polished it, OMD it was beautiful!  With the long travel kit I think we got almost 2 1/2" of travel.  Now four inches barely satisfies me.

  • @judyrutrider - just a heads up...Fauquet told me about a month ago not to reply to any of his comments on my own site because that feature doesnt work for him.  he doesnt get notice of them.  he said it's best to put my resplies on his site. 

  • Oh goodie!  I'm excited about getting my stolen bike back.  Since it was my only bike I was reluctant to work on it myself... but it'll be a spare when I get it.  And, a well worn spare that could use some attention!

    Hey... what do people do with an extra mountain bike of the same type? 

  • @JCCanyon - Either canibalize or rehab as needs dictate.

    @curtainsopen - I remember reading that now that you mention it.  Thanks for the reminder. 

  • Trusty usually takes on rapids first in our kayaks, she almost never takes the perfect line but at least I can see where not to go. It is also easier for me to come to her rescue then the other way around. (it has nothing to do with me being a big ole chicken no matter what she tells you)
    Thank  you for your comments and subscription, sorry but I cannot recall my comment to your comment
    Memory is the second thing to go
    Keep going wild  mountain biker chick!

  • @ElevenStones - It was on Englishjules site in response to the red noses on cats.  Trusty sounds like my kinda gal; I may take you up on the curb a few times but I'll get you there.  And I know you guys aren't chicken, you just like to watch the rodeo.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment