March 25, 2009
-
I found a recipe for chocolate banana bread today in Sunset Magazine that sounded interesting. It wasn't until I had combined all the ingredients that I realized it contained no sugar and no butter. I couldn't imagine how banana bread could possibly be palatable lacking those key ingredients, but since I was already in too deep to retreat, I folded in the walnuts and chocolate pieces and slid it into the oven.
I mean, how bad could it be with chocolate pieces in it?
Surprisingly, it tasted pretty good considering I went out to the garden to pinch sow bugs and forgot about it. When I came back into the house, the aroma of nearly burned chocolate/prune banana bread grabbed me by the nose.
Oh, did I forget to mention it had PRUNES in it? Here's a link to the recipe if you are so inclined. Those of you who suffer some bowel irregularities might find it quite useful.
http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1873434
Comments (18)
It looks wonderful , did it taste good ?
Your stove is AWESOME! I am not a fan of prunes, but I bet I could skip those and head straight into the bananas and chocolate.
@englishjuls - It had good flavor but it was a bit dry. Probably would have been better had I not over cooked it.
@queenie - I had two big slices of it yesterday and this morning there was no time to put the finishing touches on breakfast when the big brown bear came knocking.
Prunes, or dried plums as they call them nowadays, have their value.
@judyrutrider - Dude, would you elaborate on BEAR????? Living the wild wild life!!! I would need ice cold beer with my chocolate banana cake if bears are knocking on the door in my hood.
@queenie - You're not familiar with the term "Big brown bear" and the air cubs who accompany her?
@judyrutrider - Oh my dog, I just got it. I am so stupid. You are referring to what we in my neck of the woods call the ever elusive brown trout. Insert the f word here because I am laughing at what a dork I am. Ha ha ha!
Dear Judy,
I figured the sugar was already in the chocolate, but I don't know about the prunes. (Although I'm sure it works great as a laxative, as you mention.)
Neat "antique" stove. Your place looks like a little farm, and the barn shaped shed adds to the charm.
Oh, and thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment.
Michael F. Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool
@baldmike2004 - Yup, just call me Famer Judy, formerly Judy Rutrider. That antique stove is one of the main reasons I haven't updated my kitchen. I know it has to go but I just can't bear to part with it. It has a small gas leak at the thermocouple and a pilot light the size of the eternal flame at the tomb of the unknown soldier, not exactly energy efficient.
Sounds good except for the prunes, Next time make it without them and let me know how it tastes.
@zarnicki - Ah, but the prunes were the fun part. Did you read about that study that showed hydrogen sulfide was as effective as Viagra? Think about it...uh huh, that's what I'm talkin' about. I was cheering him on if you catch my drift.
Chocolate banana bread! What could be better than that!!!
Moral: It is always good to have some bananas at home !

Love
Michel
Here I sit at 3:00 in the morning laughing my butt off at your comments! Queenie is great! Is there any prune bread left? I don't want to turn the oven on but I'll be there to polish off your loaf for breakfast if there's anything left of it. Ok, I'm going to bed now......
even thought i've never tried them my guess is that i'd like your bread MINUS the prunes. my bowles are just fine thanksya very much.
judy, did you notice we both had a post about bananas at the same time? i think we're on some xangan cosmic food link.
You almost had me there on the bread, until you mentioned prunes. Being a regular oatmeal eater I am spared the need for prunes.
You do have me convinced on the vacation, alas work work work.
Have come to believe that prostrate cancer is not something men can avoid, just delay.
@ElevenStones - Nevertheless, you could try it on your employer. A few "health days" are always better than "sick days" off.
Drooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolz!!!!!!!!!!!!
@leblue7 - Hold on, let me get you bib before you ruin your pretty blouse.
Comments are closed.