Month: June 2016

  • Update on the Dump

    A while back I posted about a walk that included exploring the old dump at the end of my street. Just a short distance from the extinct Universal Rundle toilet factory, I found what I surmised to be defectives that had been discarded. Later, when I took Mike out to share the joy, he suggested that they were more likely the castings. Since some of you (well one of you, anyway) had expressed interest, I took the opportunity to take some pictures. Here they are:

    IMG_8580

    This is a pile of decomposing toilet castings. The following is an old cot from the Bracero labor camp.

    IMG_8583

    Mike and Molly confer about the origins of some of the more obscure items they found in dump/flood control levy.

    IMG_8584

    This is what the wash looks like where it hasn't been rearranged by men.

    IMG_8588

    A close up of a casting.

    IMG_8586

    The lone stranger on the levy.

    IMG_8591

    This is what's left of the old road.

    IMG_8592 IMG_8593

    Happy trails!

  • Dog Days of Summer

    IMG_8768

    After a cool May, June hit us with the stored energy of a solar flare. I loaded the dogs into the car and headed for the cooler altitude of the mountains. Although it was in the seventies, the sun was hot and the bugs were relentless. The dogs were less than enthusiastic

    IMG_8754

    and Sadie made it clear that she was ready to head home.

    We got home just in time to try to save the garden.

    IMG_8770

    When Mike got home, we commenced to install an air conditioner in the dog house.

    IMG_8773

    When we remodel the house, we will install a whole house system, but for now, this should keep them comfy.

    IMG_8774

    Molly and Sadie approve.

    IMG_8775 IMG_8776

  • It Might be Easier to Have Kids

    When we finally resigned ourselves to the fact that we were hopelessly besotted with the two vagabonds,

    IMG_8547

    Molly

    and IMG_8548

    Sadie, we proceeded to get them vaccinated. Our county requires a rabies vaccination and proof of sterility. Intact dogs cost $96 a year while "fixed" dogs cost $15. A senior discount brings it down to $9/year for qualifying elders.

    The vet could not locate a scar on Sadie and so, would not issue a certificate of sterility. For a mere $170 they offered a hormone test that might provide the required evidence. Otherwise, they would cut into a perfectly healthy dog to see if she had female parts intact. Neither option sounded ideal so we decided to wait to license her until we could determine definitively that she was all there. I figure she will come into season within a month or two at which time we can have her spayed. If not, well, I may have to bribe a vet to give me a cert. (I've since found a more experienced vet who had no difficulty determining that Sadie too has been spayed.)

    I went online and grappled with the county's web site and after some machinations, managed to submit the application for Molly with the appropriate certifications attached. There was no indication that they wanted proof of age on the web page but later I got a request and emailed a copy of my mom's ID.

    A few days later, animal c0ntrol officers were canvasing the neighborhood for unlicensed dogs, and we confessed that we were waiting to license Sadie but had already applied online for Molly. We provided copies of the required certs and were issued a temporary license for Sadie. It turned out to be propitious timing as we were at the 15 day limit from the date of adoption (based on the date of their vaccinations) AND we were entitled to a $50 voucher towards spaying Sadie within the next two months.

    So, today, I got a letter in the mail asking for Molly's certifications AGAIN. ~sigh~ Really, I don't think the county even requires a license to adopt a kid, and I'm pretty sure they don't require proof of sterilization, rabies shots maybe.  So, half way through my evening's glass of red wine, I composed a response that was meant to be funny but in the re-reading just sounded ...well, exasperated. I have a feeling my dealings with the county building department lately have frayed my normal equanimity. That's a story too long and boring to tell but suffice it to say, this county takes petty bureaucracy very seriously.

     

    Molly & Sadie

    Are they adorable or am I just biased?